The Secret Heart (Mended Vessels series Book 3)

The Secret Heart (Mended Vessels series Book 3)

After a whirlwind romance, beautiful Shawna Moore marries Hunter Wilson, the governor of Tennessee. Now, she wonders if the governor ever loved her or only hoped to avoid a scandal.

In this modern re-imagining of the biblical story of Bathsheba and King David, an investigative reporter is asking questions—the wedding took place only six weeks following the death of Shawna’s first husband in Iraq. If he discovers the truth about Shawna’s baby, Hunter’s chances for reelection, as well as Shawna’s reputation, will be ruined.

But keeping their secret is destroying their marriage.

Will Hunter’s choice mean the end of his political career or his family?

Order Now!
About the Book

Celebrity Marriage, Secrets, & Innuendo

Marie Wells Coutu’s newest novel, The Secret Heart, is loosely based on the lives of Bathsheba and David and is the third book in her Mended Vessels series. All the books in the series are contemporary re-imaginings of the stories of strong biblical women such as Esther and the woman at the well. This one is my favorite! Secret is definitely the key word in this story!

Coutu has a beautiful way of revealing character through relationships. The main character, Shawna, is the second wife of the Governor of Tennessee. If that wasn’t hard enough, the Governor’s late wife’s mother lives with them and cares for his children. Can you imagine? Talk about fireworks!

But the real drama is between the power couple themselves. Ambition and guilt are lonely bedfellows and Coutu unravels and re-tangles their marriage with each disappointment. Can it survive all the secrets and scandal? I’ll never tell, but you’ll love getting to know the real Shawna and Hunter.


Please follow and like us:
Series: Mended Vessels Series, Book 3
Genre: Inspirational
Publisher: Write Integrity Press
Publication Year: Feb. 21, 2017
Length: Novel
ISBN: 9781944120061
List Price: 14
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Marie Wells Coutu

Award-winning author Marie Wells Coutu writes novels about broken people being restored. After a career writing for newspapers, magazines, governments, and nonprofits, she returned to her first love—writing fiction—at the age of fifty-five. Her debut novel, For Such a Moment, won the Books of Hope contest. Thirsting for More, the second book in the Mended Vessels series, was a finalist in the Selah Awards and a semi-finalist in the Royal Palm Literary Awards. Since retiring from the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association, she and her husband have divided their time between Florida and Iowa, where they can be closer to their two children and four grandchildren.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."